School Site Council

The School Site Council is a shared decision making body composed of parents, staff, and classified personnel.

School Site Councils are required by the State of California to oversee our school's Site Plan and Title I budgets. Our Council identifies needs for academic programs and sets budgets. Its main responsibility is to prepare and monitor the School Site Plan.

This plan reflects our school's educational goals and its main strategies for achieving those goals for all of its students. The Site Council is also responsible for approving our school's budget for the compensatory education funds we receive each year. These funds are allocated by the state and federal governments to serve the educational needs of low-income children.

Members of the School Site Council are elected to two-year terms with parents, staff, and classified personnel electing their own representatives.

Taft's School Site Council meets each month at 4:15 in the library. For more information on the School Site Council, contact the office.

Click on the link below to access a copy of Taft Middle School's SSC bylaws.

School Site Council (SSC) Bylaws

Click on the link below to access a copy of Taft Middle School's Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA)

Single Plan for Student Acheivement (SPSA)

The SSC is an elected decision-making group comprised of parents, community members, site administrators, teachers and other staff. At the secondary level, students are included. The SSC has an ongoing responsibility to develop, implement, monitor and evaluate the site plan. The SSC also oversees all the categorical funds such as Title I, Second Language and GATE. All schools are required to have an SSC. Contact your site administrator or SSC chair if you are interested in joining.

School Site Council

50% Parent/Community Members 50% School Staff Members

Taft Middle School SSC Members


Parent/Community Members

  • Danielle Lesure-Sopheak
  • Katie Balla
  • Oscar Recinos
  • Matthew McEachern
  • Jennifer Peterson
  • Sak Sopheak

School Staff Members

  • Hortencia Garcia-Rubio - Principal
  • David Hare
  • Debra Peacock
  • German Cervantes
  • Rosemary Acevedo
  • Tese Smith

SSC Adivsory Groups

District Advisory Council (DAC) for Compensatory Education Programs

District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC)

GATE District Advisory Committee

Community Advisory Committee for Special Education (CAC)

School Site Council (SSC). Distirict SSC resources

Taft Site Governance Team (SGT)

Budget Reports

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.